How to manage Safety Observations.

In the article you will learn how to manage Safety Observations in the web portal.

Index:

The list of reported Safety Observations

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 9.49.59 AM

 

You can open the list of reported Safety Observations by clicking on the Safety Observations tab in the Main Menu.  This list will show you all reported Safety Observations that are not archived. You can filter this list entering a search term or clicking on the dropdown menus for categories, types, priorities, statuses and ratings. 

 

You can also export Safety Observations into to CSV and PDF formats by clicking on the List Menu at the top of the list.

 

 

Creating/Updating a Safety Observation

 

To create a new Safety Observation, click on the + New Safety Observation button. To update an existing Safety Observation, click on the Edit button of the relevant Safety Observation. 

 

 

When creating a new or updating an existing Safety Observation, you will be presented with a popup dialog box where you can select and enter the details of the safety observation.

 

Safety Observations can also be reported through the SiteConnect Mobile App by users out in the field.  Any newly reported safety observations will show in the list of Safety Observations flashing as Open in red.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.00.44 AM

 

The following categories are available:

  • Safety Mentions
  • Opportunities for Improvements
  • Critical Items
  • Safe Act
  • Unsafe Act
  • Unsafe Condition
  • Safety Rule Violation

 

The following types are available:

  • Accessibility
  • Work Environment
  • Tidiness / Cleanliness
  • Lighting
  • Fire Safety Equipment and Procedures
  • General Equipment
  • Electrical Hazard
  • Personal Protective Equipment
  • Storage / Containment
  • Other

 

The following priorities are available:

  • Not Applicable
  • Very Low
  • Low
  • Moderate
  • High
  • Critical

 

The following statuses are available:

  • Open
  • Review in Progress
  • Closed: No Action
  • Closed: With Action
  • Archived

 

You can rate the Safety Observation from 1-5 represented as:

  1. Very Bad
  2. Bad
  3. Neutral
  4. Good
  5. Very Good

 

You can enter the details of the Safety Observation in the description field. If any actions were taken, they can be entered in the Action Taken field. 

 

All Safety Observations must be associated with a site. Click on the Select a Site button to associate the Safety Observation with the selected site.

 

You can also optionally associate the Safety Observation with contractors or users in your connected network. Click on the Select Contractors or Select Users buttons to make your selection. 

 

You can also upload files with your Safety Observation. Click the Manage Files button to open the file selector (for new Safety Observations) or file manager for existing Safety Observations. 

 

If you click the Save & Close button, the Safety Observation will be reported and the dialog will close. If you click on the Save & Continue button, the dialog will close and another dialog will open where you can manage the Safety Observation. 

 

Managing a Safety Observation

 

When managing a Safety Observation, you will be presented with a dialog box that has multiple tabs in it:

  • Safety Observation
  • Files
  • Corrective Actions
  • Hazards
  • Contractors
  • Users
  • Messages

 

Safety Observation

 

The Safety Observation tab will show the details of the Safety Observation.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.59.46 AM

Files

 

The Files tab is where you can manage documents and pictures for the Safety Observation. Click on the Manage Files button to view, copy the URL or delete the file.

 

 

 

To add a new file, click on the Browse Files button to select files form your device. 

 

Corrective Actions

 

The corrective actions tab allows you to add any corrective actions that may relate to the Safety Observation. You can filter the corrective actions by entering a search term or selecting the relevant priority or completion status. Click the Add Corrective Action button to add a new corrective action.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.09.42 AM

 

The corrective actions will be pre-populated with information from the Safety Observation.  You can edit/remove this information or add additional information.  You can set a due date, a priority level and upload documents/pictures.

 

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.09.58 AM

 

Once the corrective action is saved it will create a task within the Task tab in the Main menu.

 

 

From here you can view, edit and delete the task.  You can also mark the task as complete by toggling the Open button to Complete.

 

In the Safety Observation dialhog box you will be able to edit the Corrective Action and filter on priorities and incomplete/completed safety observations.

 

You cannot close a corrective action from the Safety Observation Dialhog box.  You must go to the Task tab to close the corrective action.

 

Hazards

 

The Hazards tab will allow you to create a new hazard for the associated site for the Safety Observation. You can filter the hazards by entering a search term or by selecting a status from the status dropdown. When you create a new hazard, the hazard form will be pre-populated with details from the Safety Observation which you can complete.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.14.46 AM

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.15.10 AM

Click here to learn how to manage your account hazard templates.

Contractors

 

The Contractors tab allows you to select and associate contractors with the Safety Observation. Click the manage contractors button to select and deselect contractors that are associated with your account. The selected contractors will be associated with the Safety Observation. You can send messages to any of the listed contractors by clicking on the Send Message button.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.22.45 AM

 

Select the contractors that you want to associate with the Safety Observation and click on the Select button.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.35.15 AM

Click here to learn more about managing your list of contractors for your account.

Users

 

The Users tab allows you to select and associate users with the Safety Observation. Click the Manage Users button to select and deselect users that are in your connected network. The selected users will be associated with the Safety Observation. You can send messages to any of the listed users by clicking on the Send Message button. 

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.32.56 AM

 

Select the users that you want to associate with the Safety Observation and click on the Select button.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.33.32 AM

Messages

 

The Messages tab allows you to send messages that will relate to the Safety Observation that you have open. You can filter the messages list by entering a search term or by selecting a message type, status or priority from the relevant dropdown filters. Click the New Message button to compose a new message from the Safety Observations feature.

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.39.30 AM

 

When the message composer is opened from the Safety Observations feature, either from the contractors, users or messages list, the message composer will be pre-populated with details from the Safety Observation. 

 

Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 11.30.10 AM

 

For any SiteConnect issues or questions, please contact us at support@sitesoft.com or call us on 0800 748 763